Collective Housing – part 1 review

Team project with Veronica Popescu.

p1-copymic

p3-copymic

p2-copymic

p4-copymic

p5-copymic

Our solution proposed the creation of several interlinked interior and exterior courtyards that both encouraged interaction with the surrounding busy streets while at the same time offering an intimate place to retreat to. Various social and commercial functions requiring different visibility/exposure levels can occupy this space at ground floor level.

The space-partitioning algorithm we used (Voronoi), though a cliche, provided us with the ability to fill-out the space alloted for the project in a coherent, integrated manner without the urbanistic disruptions created by bar-type blocks (or modernist urbanism and its present refinements). Through the parametric approach used (see previous post) we were able to continualy search for the best solution (regarding geometry, overall&floor height/number of stories, surface areas, access at pedestrian level, acces towards the apartments) within a fluent design process. This allowed us to strictly respect the main given restrictions (POT, CUT, etc.) of the assignement while at the same time keeping and fostering the added benefits of continous and easy experimentation.

4 thoughts on “Collective Housing – part 1 review

  1. One second this blog entry did not exist, and the next it did. I am really and truly impressed with what you call a “cliche”. I am a first year architecture student. I came across your site searching for a way to actually implement my design strategy. It is the final project of my first year program. I decided to program space using a voronoi diagram, which I learned about in statistics when I previously was an engineering major. I should not have been surprised that as a first year student that no one else had thought of this. So it was really comforting to find that others are trying to generate form from voronoi diagrams–because this meant that I would have an easier time designing and fabricating my project. I am coming from such a virgin background and my school does not really teach Rhino use let alone scripting or anything else. I think they expect us to design modernist boxes. My instructor is really encouraging but process-wise pursuing what for me in my context is an adventurous strategy makes the resulting output work sometime lackluster. I would probably be better off designing modernist boxes.

    I am still trying to figure out how to create a set of data points within a 3d bounded box (the buildable area of my site) to generate a 3d voronoi form.

    Haha, I have to do 3 concept models, 3 program models, and 3 ground plane manipulation models due tomorrow . . . so basically congratulations on what you have done, keep pushing yourself upwards–your files are even pulling some of us up with you–including your fabrication manual for contoured forms.

  2. I figured out how to make a point cloud and some actual voronoi forms–both 2D and 3D. However, the 3D voronoi seem to be simply 2D voronoi with the 2D voronoi cells extruded vertically. Now, to figure out how to create a boundary and also how to input areas that remain constant.

    My point cloud is based on programming. Site analysis of relating nearby programming to site the programs. I believe in a previous post you said that this was limiting and maybe not the ideal approach–however, its an approach for me to systematically study design here as a process and in actual work.

    I also have specific area constraints–for example, space A is 400 square metres. So I cannot change that constraint. So I want to figure out how to input that.

    I got both your grasshopper voronoi generator and the pointset reconstruction toolbar.

    Sorry to talk about my project in commentary about your work. I was hoping for some feedback from yourself and others . . . because your work is aiding and inspiring me!

    I would like to do this in Rhino because ostensibly it would be faster than doing it manually. I am learning, but the learning curve seems steep at least here at the beginning.

Leave a Reply

